Lulu Bea's Blog

Remember to play

Make-up and I don’t like to hang out together very often. I say it’s because I love to rub my eyes too much. Ok… I’m a bit lazy too. I save it for special occasions, like craft shows and… well… craft shows. Anyways, I’ve had this little old-school caboodle of make-up for years… and I mean years. Think of having the same one and only tube of lipstick since high school. That was 17 years ago!!

Even though I don’t wear it much, I still own a little stash. One of my sons loves to look through it and asks to play with it, in which case I’ve always responded “No way  buddy!” Until one day… I thought, “This should be interesting.” He said he was just going to put it on his sister… uh-huh… yeah right.

photo-20

Yes, they are sitting in my bathtub. That tub doesn’t see much use, so it’s the perfect, contained play area. Sometimes it doubles as a slide… but don’t tell my husband that!!

photo-23

TA-DA!! Don’t they look, um, beautiful?? Ha! I love their inhibition. How often do you just let go and play? When was the last time you skipped instead of walked? Just throwing in that little spurt of joy really connects me with my inner child. With all the roles that we assume (especially us mothers!), playtime often gets edged out.

So tell me… what have you done lately that made you feel “child-like”???

2 comments

  1. Karen McGinley AKA Nonna

    How Creative!! Looks like they are made up for Halloween!! You should let them creative with your makeup for Halloween!

Leave a Reply

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

Flora Bowley

Brave Intuitive Life

