Lulu Bea's Blog

Favorite quote

In an effort to coerce myself to blog more, I recently joined a blog circle with a number of other women that I met online last fall. We all signed up to take a 5-week  course offered by Kelly Rae Roberts to inspire and provide us all with tips and strategies to make our creative businesses soar. I met hundreds of women from all over the world, and we essentially formed our own artist community. Even though the course ended, we still keep in touch regularly. I can’t tell you what an amazing group it is… we are all there to offer support, share our experiences, give tips, etc., all without judgement or the fear of giving our secrets away. We know that there is room for all of us in this creative world, and we are happy to help in whatever way we can.

The topic for this month’s blog is our favorite quote. While I can’t say that this is my favorite quote of all time, it is one that has been on my mind heavily over the past few weeks.

We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors; we borrow it from our children.

I heard this quote at Disney World, where we went a few weeks ago for spring break.

20130417-221222.jpg

Our first stop was Epcot Center, where we watched a video about the circle of life. In this video, it showed how all the world’s creatures balance each other out… except for us humans. Basically, I left the theater with tears in my eyes after seeing evidence about just how much humans suck when it comes to taking care of this earth. Yes, there are many groups who are putting forth the effort to help the earth, but I feel it is not enough… and I ask myself… am I doing enough? How can I do more?

The next day we went to The Animal Kingdom. Our first ride was the African Safari, where we were able to see many animals up close in a somewhat “natural” environment. Here are a couple of pictures that really stood out to me.
20130417-221334.jpg

20130417-221347.jpg

To me, Disney World epitomizes consumerism. However, I was happy to see how efforts are being made to reduce the carbon imprint through recycling and other green endeavors. At one restaurant they even had cardboard straws!! I was sooooo impressed to see those because I’ve often though that straws were such a waste.

So, back to my quote… while my business is focused on using secondhand/used materials, I have this underlying doubt that I am not doing enough. I feel like I need to make a bigger impact, I need to do more. Perhaps this is just the start of something bigger, but perhaps not.  My dear friend, Bridgette, told me the other day about how she thought about me when looking for materials to make some poster displays. She was initially going to buy poster board, but then thought about what I would do, and instead used large pieces of cardboard boxes. This made me so proud to see how the way I live my life and run my business has made an impact (no matter if it’s large or small) in the way another person lives theirs. Maybe this is good enough? Maybe I do not need to make a huge impact on the world, but rather the impact I make in the world of those around me is all that’s meant to be?

I’ve heard a number of spiritual leaders speak about the key to success (or something like that) is to ask yourself the question “How may I serve?” I always think the answer should be in relation to other people, but now I wonder if my answer isn’t in relation to the earth we live on? Can I say that I serve mother earth?

As you can see, I have a lot of questions and not many answers. I know that I do not need to have all the answers right now, but they will be presented to me in time. In the meantime… while we navigate our journeys side-by-side, make sure you always take the time to stop and play the drums :).

20130417-221410.jpg

Please continue reading in our lovely blog circle by checking out the AMAZING Karrlin Bain’s blog.

Oh, and you will be happy to know that as we traveled the crowded parks at Disney world, we did not lose any of our 5 children… permanently ;).

4 comments

  1. Haha! Love the last line of your post. And wow, you really got me thinking. I have been wondering the same things over the past few months. The chemicals we put in our food, the toxins we release into the environment. There’s a gas station by my house that I’ve gone to a few times called Propel Fuel, http://propelfuels.com/ , I keep meaning to check out more about them online. You can carbon offset your fuel when you fill up…I have no idea how, must investigate!

  2. Great post and yes…I do know exactly what you mean about trying to not put more footprints on the world for our children. We really do need to care for the future moreso in small ways…each of us. Happy to hear you didn’t loose any of those cuties of yours. 🙂

  3. I LOVED your post!!! I still remember fondly our trip to Disneyland with our young children! You photos are wonderful and your questions really thought provoking. My post is about deep thoughts this month also. Five children!! That was quite a feat not losing any of them. We were just with two. One watched US and the other (our daughter) watched the youngest!!! 😀

  4. What a fantastic post! I believe anyone that reads this will be awakened no matter how “green” they currently live… and will think about how to incorporate more change and serving into their lives. We recycle like crazy yet I have never given a thought to those little straws! There are many things I can do if I become more aware. Thank you for a wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

Flora Bowley

Brave Intuitive Life

