Lulu Bea's Blog

I Love Love!

I am so super excited to share this post with you!!!! My mother asked me to create a painting as a wedding present, and I am so proud of how it turned out. I freaking love it!!!! So… I’ve been waiting until the wedding date to pass so I can share it with all of you.

First off, I want to say that the style of painting that I use is one that I learned from Flora Bowley when I took an online course from her. To say that it opened my mind, heart and soul to a whole new way of expressing myself is an understatement. I need to write a post all about that experience… and I will… but first I want to show you my process!

The color scheme I was given was blue-green, like the ocean. Ok. Got it!

First layer – cool colors. Made by dripping fluid acrylic paint onto the canvas and spraying it with water to drip and spread around.

2013-07-03_046

Second layer – warm colors. Why warm colors when the color scheme is blue-green? Quite simply, to add variety.

2013-07-03_045

Third layer – cool colors again. I play around with a neat texture tool that came in one of my craigslist scores.

2013-07-03_044

Close-up of awesome texturizationfunness.

2013-07-03_043

Fourth layer – black and white. Why? More variety and some depth of course!

2013-07-03_042

At this point you may be wondering where the heck I’m going with it… and to be honest, I don’t know either!! Flora’s course teaches us to let go of the outcome and just go with the flow. If I feel like making white squiggly marks, I’m going to make white squiggly marks.

Fifth layer – more blues, patterns, texturizing and downright having fun.

2013-07-03_041

Sixth layer – an image emerges.

2013-07-03_040

Seventh and Eighth layer – toning down the busyness around the image using the colors in the desired color scheme, adding details with metallic paint and other finishing touches… and… voila!!

A finished painting…

2013-07-03_036Huh? What’s that you say? It looks like two women?? Damn straight baby!!! The couple getting married were two women, and I am so honored to honor their love with this work of art.

I love love!!!! Woohooooo!!!!!!

7 comments

  1. Terri Tischer

    Wow, wow! I don’t know what else to say! I loved each layer and would have been happy to have this painting at every stage it was at! What an honor to be able to gift them like that and what a gift you have!

Leave a Reply

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

Flora Bowley

Brave Intuitive Life

