Lulu Bea's Blog

The Big Reveal

I have started to spread the word to those close around me, and I feel it is time to make an official announcement. No, I am not having baby #5 (I think my tears would short circuit the keyboard if that were the case!). I am thrilled (with a touch of nervousness and anxiety) to announce that I am going to open a store! That’s right! Lulu’s Upcycling Lounge will have an official brick & mortar location in Downtown Lakeville, Minnesota.

Here is an exterior shot of my space. Doesn’t look like much, but it will be… oh yes indeedy.

photo 1-1There will be one window added like my wonderful neighbor’s, Perfectly Random. The window will bring in some natural light, but on top of that, I think they are just so cool. So big, with a neat ledge… it will look great!

photo 2-1What will I have in the store? So many goodies!! My goal is to fill the retail section with handmade artisan products that utilize upcycled, recycled and repurposed materials. I still want to maintain my mission of using secondhand materials, because in our mass consumptive, disposable society, I need to show that there are alternatives to always running to the big chain store to buy something that was mass produced. There is a charm, a quality, and unique energy that comes along with buying something handmade. There is an actual person behind that product… one that has a story to tell… and in my opinion, it doesn’t get much better than that.

But wait! There’s more!!! Not only will have I have a variety of awesome, cool, inspiring, handmade upcyled products available for purchase, but I am also going to offer arts & crafts classes for all ages! Here again, I will continue to utilize secondhand materials as much as possible into the classes. I plan to offer everything from sewing, knitting, and crocheting to crafting, home decor and painting… PLUS I will bring in guest instructors to cover even more creative areas! Think repurposing furniture, jewelry making, health and fitness… the sky is the limit!

I am aiming for the store to open in time for the holiday season, but there is much to be done (so much more than I would have thought!). I’ll keep you all updated on the process… I’ll share the ups and downs, the highs and lows, because there’s something cathartic to writing one’s thoughts down and sharing our stories. It’s definitely going to be an adventure… but it’s also going to be FABULOUS!

16 comments

  1. Brenda Altschul

    Alaina, I am thrilled for you!! Your talents have had me in awe for years. Congratulations & warm wishes for huge success in this venture.
    Love,
    Aunt Brenda

  2. Terri Tischer

    You are going to be awesome! I’m honored to have been able to share this process with you, thank you! We’ll have a great time as neighbors!

  3. Elizabeth

    I am so excited for you. It will be great to see your talents in a store setting. Best wishes on the new adventure in upcycling.

Leave a Reply

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

Flora Bowley

Brave Intuitive Life

