Lulu Bea's Blog

Staycation!

This past weekend was a 4 day vacation for my kids, and for the 3rd year in a row now, my husband took the kids out of town whilst I stayed home… all alone… in the silence… without anyone calling me “mama”… without any responsibilities… to do as I pleased… to do as much (or as little!) as I wanted… and to not justify my behaviors to anyone. Needless to say, it was pure bliss!!!

You see, my husband’s job often requires him to travel during the weeks, sometimes even spilling over onto the weekends, so I thought it was only fair for him to spend quality time with our kids once a year.

Of course it’s all about the kids, and not about me at all…. hee hee! 

was a bit shocked when he agreed to it 3 years ago, and am happily surprised when the tradition continues each year. I don’t know how long I’ll be able to have this alone time, but believe me… I enjoy it immensely and make the most out of it. PLUS, I am much more relaxed, focused and centered on my family when they return home because I have had the time to put me first… which I believe is an essential ingredient in overall happiness for everyone.

Here’s a little peak at what I did with my wonderful, amazing, refreshing alone time…

Stopped by the store to see that the previous floor had been removed. Progress!! Slowly, but surely!!

photo 2-2

Did some minimal picking up at home and found this piece of artistic expression. <Sigh>… boys!

photo 1-2

Broke out some power tools to work on pieces for an upcoming craft show. Good thing I had my son’s science set goggles and my daughter’s scarf for protection! Sheesh!!photo 1

Went antique shopping and found these cubbies for my store that I had to have. I can already visualize the art supply organization wonderfulness!!!

photo 2

I also did my fair share of watching tv shows and eating homemade popcorn… but alas, no pictures of my laziness. Ahhhhhh… what a fun weekend that was…. I highly recommend all mamas try to sweet talk your way into a similar arrangement ;). It looks like they had a fun time too though!!

photo 1-3 photo 2-3 photo 3-1 photo 4-1

Leave a Reply

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

Flora Bowley

Brave Intuitive Life

