Lulu Bea's Blog

Heart art with one of my little hearts.

Meet Z! He’s my 2nd son, and he’s a sweetie. This little cutie pie helped me make my class example for the February parent/child class.IMG_0435Believe it or not, this was the first time that he and I had ever painted together. My younger 2 always want to create art with me, but Z is the type of kid who is always off doing his own thing, whether it be playing with his siblings or playing on his own. I originally asked my 3rd son to help me, but he declined (the nerve!) Ha! I honestly didn’t expect Z to say “yes” to helping me, but I asked him anyways… and I’m so glad I did!!

For this project, we both made our own mixed media canvas to put together in the end to form 1 heart. Here is my general process:

Step 1) Collage. I select a variety of papers (think scrapbook, wallpaper, book pages, music paper, pattern paper, paper that has been painted on… anything you can find). I glue them down with mod podge in any arrangement that fits my fancy. I don’t put a lot of thought process into the layout of the papers because, chances are, you won’t see much of them in the end. IMG_0429Step 2) Add paint. My favorite way to add paint is to drip the paint directly onto the canvas and spread it around with a credit card – keeping in mind to mix warm colors together or cool colors together, not with each other, so you don’t make brown. IMG_0431Step 3) Add more paint and designs. Once the previous layer is dry, I add other colors via paintbrush, fingers, credit card, whatever… it’s play time right now. Just have fun and don’t think about the end result.IMG_0430Step 4) Add texture! This part is lotsa fun. Here are some of my favorite tools: punchnella (aka sequence waste) and plastic canvas. Bubble wrap is also a staple texture adding tool.IMG_0432IMG_0433Step 5) Drips, drips, and more drips!! I like to use acrylic ink to add drips in every which way. You can use a straw to get smaller tracks running off of the main drip, or spray water on top to diffuse the acrylic ink and create a softer look. Remember, keep turning your canvas in different directions. Don’t be committed to which way is “up” quite yet.IMG_0434Step 6) Take a break for a pic with my little man!IMG_0437

Step 7) Add more texture and color. Now that you’ve built up some layers, adding a blob of color (yes, that’s a very technical term) and then “writing” or “etching” into the wet paint with the end of your paintbrush, a wooden skewer, or pencil… anything with a point will do. Draw designs, write words, whatever happens to flow out of your hand. Also, notice the purple swirl. I drew that with the acrylic ink dripper.IMG_0438Step 8) Watch your son in the “art zone”. It was so cute, he kept saying how much fun he was having, and that every time that I need a kid to help me make a project, to always ask him.IMG_0436IMG_0440Step 9) Cut out a BIG HEART that fits over both canvases. IMG_0444

Step 10) Add white paint with a brayer to tone down the space around the heart. This will give emphasis to the heart once finished. I drip the white paint around the canvas and then roll the brayer around, turning in all directions. You may need to hold your hand under the canvas to give the brayer something hard to push against.IMG_0443Step 11) Paint around the edges of the canvas so it looks finished once on the wall. Z wanted to take a picture of me for once.IMG_0445

Step 12) Display the canvases together on the wall, and voila! You have both created a masterpiece! I happened to find the phrase “souls that love” on a piece of book paper that I just had to include, and Z found the phrase “this is your kind of mystery,” which was totally perfect for him!! So, now we can display these canvases at home together, or apart, knowing that we’ll always have part of each other’s heart with us. That’s sweet, right? Not creepy?? 🙂IMG_0447

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 comments

  1. rrreow

    This is so awesome! I love your process of creating this (thank you for sharing) but what I LOVE LOVE LOVE is how meaningful it is because you did it with your son. My first son isn’t really into painting much, although he’s only 3 so maybe it will come. I really look forward to creating art with my kids hopefully in years to come.

    • You’re very welcome for sharing the process, and thank you for your sweet words. Like you said, your oldest son is only 3, so give him time :). If he sees you creating artwork, no doubt he’ll be curious and want to try along with you. I was surprised when Z joined me, which was a great reminder to always allow for the element of surprise :).

Leave a Reply

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

Flora Bowley

Brave Intuitive Life

