Lulu Bea's Blog

Custom art for little Lulu

A dear, wonderful, sweet friend of mine has a daughter nicknamed Lulu… and she asked me to create some small paintings based on dance pictures of her little girl.

Hi sweet friend!photo-19

Now… I have never tried to recreate a painting based on a real life, and I was hesitant to try, BUT… I love my friend and I wanted to do it for her and her little Lulu :). Plus, it’s always good to stretch one’s limits and try new things!

First came the sketch…Lucy sketchThen a little color…Lucy2Now a background so she isn’t floating in the air. My friend wanted a dark background, similar to the curtains on the stage in the picture.LucyI wanted more texture and depth though… so I added some bubble wrap texture to the curtains and a couple of different colors to the floor.IMG_1022Add a little facial features…IMG_1019 And the little ladies are finished!IMG_1021

I gotta say… working on the small, 5×5 canvases presented quite a challenge when it came to adding facial features… and I may have developed tennis elbow from the fine motor movements… but I digress. I knew I didn’t need to get too defined based on my friend’s request, but getting it just right was super challenging. I am sure I could have fiddled with it forever, but luckily I was saved by the deadline.

I was double lucky when I was able to be present when my friend gave the paintings to little Lulu. We both had happy tears when seeing her reaction… and if I’m going to cry, then those are the best kinds of tears to have.

Leave a Reply

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

Flora Bowley

Brave Intuitive Life

