Lulu Bea's Blog

Always choose kindness

20140601-204818-74898032.jpg

I made this in my art journal a couple of months ago during a time of healing. I was the recipient of unkind behavior, and it hurt. I was hurt.

It would have been easy for me to retaliate the meanness with meanness, but what would that serve? No, I didn’t justify my side of the story, and no, I was not heard. While I know that I will not always be liked, it hurts all the same to have people say negative things about me. What I do know is that I control my actions. I chose kindness, even though the other party didn’t want it. I didn’t engage in the drama, and the whole situation was quite sucky, but I walked away knowing that I chose kindness.

One of my favorite quotes is “Would you rather be right or happy?” I’ve learned that engaging in the drama rarely results in a good outcome. Drama often brings out the worst in people, and the world does not need to see our worst. Through choosing kindness, we put forth our better part… we put forth our heart, even if it means our heart will be broken. I did feel broken, but now I see that my heart healed with a greater capacity to love and show kindness. It was a hard lesson to learn, and I am sure it won’t be the last test for me. Through kindness we learn compassion and forgiveness. While forgiveness does not condone the behavior, it does allow for the grace of knowing that we all are dealing with our own issues.

We all do the best we can, with what we have, at that particular moment in time. I am on a mission to disengage from the drama, to show compassion even when it hurts my heart, and to always choose kindness. Can you imagine what the world would be like if we all did this? Even if the person you’re facing never realizes that you chose to be kind instead of being mean, it’s worth it in the end because you are being true to yourself.

And so there you have it… A hard lesson that I learned on this wild journey of life. It took me a while to be able to talk about it with dry eyes, and now that I can… I share my heart with you.

Lulu Bea

Lulu Headshot Small

Ignited Woman Life Coaching ~ Helping women to IGNITE their life and find true freedom in creating a life that truly inspires & delights them.

_____________________________________________________

Where else to connect with me:

Website       Facebook       Twitter       Instagram
Follow me on Periscope @Lulu_Beas
Sign-up for the newsletter and receive an inspiring, 20-card printable deck for FREE!
“I AM Affirmations”

 

 

2 comments

  1. Dianne Rowse

    You are so wise. I keep “The Four Agreements” (from the book of that title by Don Miguel Ruiz) posted on my kitchen cupboard door: Be impeccable with your word (kindness), Don’t take anything personally, Don’t make assumptions, and Always do your best. It’s a good approach to life.

Leave a Reply

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

Flora Bowley

Brave Intuitive Life

