Lulu Bea's Blog

Why I Choose to Embrace My Gray Hair

Embrace my gray

Back in 2011, I decided to stop dying my hair. I was 33 years old, and I was going gray. I was cautioned against it, because it would make me look older, but I was tired of spending the money, I was tired of putting chemicals on my head, and I was tired of caring about the color of my hair.

I had had enough, and I was ready to be done. 

Fast forward to 2016, and I cannot be any more in LOVE with the color of my hair. I have gray hair. Lots and lots of gray hair, and it makes me so happy!!! Why?

Because that’s what IS, and I have accepted it.

I have embraced my gray, and in fact, hardly even notice it anymore. I actually get many compliments on it and have been asked if I dye it gray on purpose.

I was so excited to read this article in the latest issue of Experience Life Magazine

The Changing Face of Beauty
“An increasing interest in all things real and natural is changing how we take care of ourselves ­— inside and out.”

 

This is by far my FAVORITE magazine that I’ve ever read. It’s the whole package; mind + body + spirit. It makes me so happy to read how natural beauty is being embraced more and more. I always say that natural looks best.

I truly believe that through embracing your body, and its natural changes, you will sail through the aging process with much more ease & grace. Once I embraced my gray hair, it was like a huge weight was lifted off of my shoulders. I didn’t have to worry about covering it up any more. I was no longer self conscious about my gray roots showing.

It was my first stepping stone toward embracing the aging process.

This aging thing is quite interesting. There have been many a morning where I look in mirror and exclaim “When did that happen??”

I’ve since decided to use the phrase “Well that’s interesting” instead, when it come to the way the body shifts, sags and wrinkles. Viewing it all with an air of curiosity and wonder helps me to detach from the personalization of the physical body… if that makes sense.

I am more than my body.

My body is an aging vessel, and I am honored to witness the changes… because that means  that I am still around to see them. I do my best to take care of it, through diet and exercise, but there is a limit to what is in my control.

SO… I choose to let go… Let go of holding onto a young, “perfect” body. Let go of what I think my body “should” look like. Let go of to what others think is beautiful… because there is only one version me, and I will love it no matter what!!!!

 

Lulu Bea

Lulu Headshot Small

Ignited Woman Life Coaching ~ Helping women to IGNITE their life and find true freedom in creating a life that truly inspires & delights them.

_____________________________________________________

Where else to connect with me:

Website       Facebook       Twitter       Instagram
Follow me on Periscope @Lulu_Beas
Sign-up for the newsletter and receive an inspiring, 20-card printable deck for FREE!
“I AM Affirmations”

 

 

9 comments

  1. YUP…embrace the grey for sure because you look beautiful! I’m going to start using the “well, that’s interesting” instead of my normal “what the heck is that now”. LOL!!! Love your point of view and love of life.

  2. I’ve been considering embracing the grey finally. At almost 46, I know they’re in there, but I’ve been coloring my hair for so many years, I don’t even know what my natural color is let alone how many grey’s there are! LOL
    You may have given me the nudge I needed to just go for it! Thanks!

  3. This is a tricky one for me, I’ll be honest. I’ve been coloring my hair for ages and can’t bring myself to stop. Yet. And you look wonderful. It totally suits you. And yes, I love the positive tone of “Well, that’s interesting …”

  4. What a fabulous attitude Lulu and one I hope gains wide-spread acceptance much much sooner than later. We are indeed more than our body and there’s so much to celebrate and love about ourselves and one another. And it’s all very interesting. 🙂

  5. skjam2013

    It’s more laziness than anything else for me–if I started coloring my hair, then I’d have to keep touching it up and getting more coloring done.

  6. This is a common topic of discussion amongst my friends. You look LOVELY and your perspective on it all is much appreciated. Good for you for embracing it all in this manner. You ARE beautiful!

  7. Thanks for your post Lulu! I, too, have embraced my gray hair and stopped getting it foiled a few years ago. I am in my late 60’s and figure I have earned my gray hair. It is part of who I am and I have finally embraced it. By the way, you are beautiful with your gray hair:)

  8. Starr

    I really needed to read this tonight. I am 37 and reluctantly have been toying with letting my grey hair show…I am tired of contributing to this beauty standard that youth is most prettiest. I want to accept; I want to spend my money on other things than getting my hair done to hide the greys; they start showing up about a week and half after I dye it anyway. I’m chasing a butter fly!

  9. Dana

    I turned 48 in December. In early 2012, I stopped coloring as well. My hair grows very quickly and I got tired of dealing with the roots, the chemicals, and my desire to “keep it fresh”. I made the conscious decision to embrace my grey and to let my hair be what it wants — natural. I am very salt-n-pepper at this point and I am very much looking forward to one day being completely grey (hold the pepper, please). I love my sparkling strands of wisdom!

Leave a Reply

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

Flora Bowley

Brave Intuitive Life

