Lulu Bea's Blog

Why I needed to break up with a friend.

why-i-needed-to-break-up-with-a-friend

As you walk, it is important to choose whom you want as your companions, and to also be willing to let some people go down different paths. Each companion is valuable in that moment, but some are only meant to last a few steps.

I realized this past weekend, at an event out of town, that the path I walk is one paved with love, kindness, compassion, and respect. I must choose companions who value the same things, or if nothing else, are simply kind. Kindness is love in action, and kindness is the sweetest gift of all.

I have chosen to live my life from a place of love. I give everyone a chance. Everyone. I will trust until I am shown a reason not to. This past weekend, a friend showed me a reason not to trust him anymore, and so I needed to walk away.

I have grown to honor and respect myself and my time, and when others do not show me the same respect, I must lovingly say goodbye.

I was hurt, and I cried, and it didn’t end the way I would have liked, but we don’t always get to choose. I simply cannot align myself with someone who is incongruent to his word.

As Maya Angelou said, “When someone shows you who they are, believe them the first time.”

I am not willing to stick around and be disrespected again. I’m sorry, but that’s just a deal breaker. However, I will still be kind to him when we meet, and wish him the best in life. I just don’t need to be a witness to it.

I recently came across this daily meditation from “Holy Shift” by Dr. Robert Holden, and it really made a big impact on me:

“You have forgiven the world today.” Wow. What an amazing thought. After all, to forgive is actually a choice you make, is it not?

Forgiveness feels so much lighter, and more peaceful. I don’t want to hang on to resentment, anger, or disappointment. In fact, I am grateful for this experience. Not only did it let me stand firm in my resolve, but it actually opened the door to new friendships that were waiting to be made.

In the moment of expressing my hurt and disappointment to my friend, I knew everything was going to be alright. I trusted that things were unfolding exactly as they needed to, and in the end I would be just fine.

You know what? I was right. My weekend could not have been any more amazing. I feel so loved by my spiritual support team, who are always looking out for me and helping things fall into place. I am grateful for the chance to stand up for myself, and to still choose kindness when it was all said and done.

Because no matter what, you can always choose kindness, forgiveness is always an option, and you can’t expect others to love you if you don’t love yourself first.

I am grateful for this life lesson.

Leave a comment

Lulu Bea's

Become Who You Came To Be

The (mis) Adventures of Leila Cook

Crafts, art, photography, books, cooking, family and Jewish stuff. And anything else that suits my fancy ;)

Daily Love with Mastin Kipp

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.

kelly rae

From motherhood to entrepreneurship, walk the journey with Lulu through her upcycled world.